Friday, July 30, 2010

American Taxi Drivers



I wouldn't mind getting on the cab. Hahaha! The driver looks smokin'! LOL

Thursday, July 29, 2010

The Last Airbender


I was never a fan of the cartoons so I had no idea what this movie was all about. Based on the trailer, it was about the four elements and only once person, the Avatar, could master all four. Nope, I'm not talking about the blue monkey people from Pandora.

All of the reviews I saw were negative. Rotten tomatoes gave it a dismal 8%, I think. Anyway, I decided not to watch this on the big screen so I settled for the DVD. Definitely it was not yet a clear copy but it was decent enough.

My thoughts? Hmmm. Typical Bobo movie. Its that type of movie wherein you wouldn't need your brains to understand the movie. It was predictable, direct and downright crappy, in a way. The story was so-so. Nothing new there and predictable. Oh, did I say predictable? LOL

The effects were fine, fancy but the usual. The costumes, hmmm, steady. The set design, OK. Overall, it was a bad film. M. Night Shyamalan sure wasted big bucks. He could have done a better job. They said that this movie was an eye-candy because of the effects, but I beg to disagree.

The only thing that surprised me was Jackson Rathbone aka Sokka aka Jasper Hale from the Twilight Saga. He looked really nice in this movie. Such a big difference from his pale self in Twilight.

Don't bother watching this and spending a good 200 bucks. You might as well eat out or save up for a better movie. Just wait for the DVD. Way cheaper.

Inception


OK, a LOT of people have been saying that Nolan's latest blockbuster Inception is a must-watch flick. It took me 2 weeks before I could finally watch it on the big screen. After a all the reviews and reactions of my friends I finally watched it last night. I must agree that it was indeed a good film. They were saying that you need to really pay attention to appreciate the movie. Good thing I listened to every word they uttered.

"Nangangain ng tanga. "

That was the usual comment of those who have seen the movie. Well, to some extent, yes. But it's not rocket science for one to appreciate the film. Others watched it twice or more. It only took me once to figure out what it was all about. The idea of extraction and inception is quite intriguing. Imagine having the capacity to the enter someone's dreams and stealing something or even creating a idea and making it seem natural. That's really something.

My thoughts on the movie? Hmmm. It was good. It kept me entertained until the end. Though there were some parts that were quite boring but I managed to stay awake. Towards the end, I kept on tugging my friend's sleeve because I was quite absorbed into the action. A dream within a dream within a dream. That has got to be really deep. And I mean really really deep.

A journey into one's subconscious is one roller coaster ride. The action scenes in the movie were fine, just like your typical. Nothing out of the box. The effects, same thing. I liked the part where they "folded" the city. Haha! Hey, i'm easy to please!

Inception showed the power that one's mind has. Well, that's how I saw it. Mind-fuck? Not really. It sure wasn't light but it sure was interesting.

Should you watch it? Yes. But you can always rely on DVD.

But then, its up to you.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Whatever


Time to update the desktop. My friend Kris Bacani took this picture during her recent trip to Singapore. I was the first person who came to mind when she read this. Moo, you know me very well. Kaya sabay-sabay tayo lulubog sa Kumunoy. Bwahahaha!

Ibalik Muli



"Ibalik Muli" by Dingdong Avanzado

Hanggang ngayon naalalaa ko pa
Bawat araw na tayo’y nagkasama
Di malimot ang iyong mga ngiti
Bawat taong lumipas o, kay dali
Ngunit nakaukit sa puso ko
Ang magagandang alala mo
Ibalik muli…. ngayon
Kung sakali mang magkita pa
Ako ba’y yong makikilala
Tingnan mong aking mga mata
Sabik sa pag ibig mo..
Kung sakali mang limot mo na
Ang damdamin mo sakin sinta
Hahayaan ko na lamang
Kung sakali mang magkita…….

Ouch.

Monday, July 26, 2010

Muli



Special Screening this August 4 at the U.P. Film Center, 6pm.

"Ibalik Muli" by Dingdong Avanzado

UP vs FEU

Jigs Mayuga



I first saw Jigs Mayuga in an issue of Garage Magazine. The moment I read his profile, I had an instant crush on him. Haha! So I followed him on Twitter and had a glimpse of his crazy yet fun life. Well, I also added him on Facebook and found out that we have a few common friends, at least there were some. Oxygen XTV (OK, I had no idea they had something like this) featured him. Got this video from Youtube which I got from his Twitter.

Stalker much? Nah, I'm more of a fan girl, as what my makeup artist pal Kris Bacani says. I'm a certified Jigs Mayuga fan girl/boy or whatever. LOL

Keepin' It Real


This pic just made my day. LOL!

Friday, July 23, 2010

UP vs UST

How Hot is Haute?

I read a really interesting article about the exclusive world of Haute Couture. for somebody who comes from the third world, one can only dream of having one garment from the Haute Couture collections of Paris. With only a select few in the world who could afford such extravagance, does Haute Couture still have a place in the coming decades? Surely, these fashion houses have survived for half a century or even more but in today's modern world, would someone still want to spend millions on just a single garment?

Thanks to the power of the internet, many of us now have a chance of viewing these collections upclose, not personal though. LOL. Bloggers like Bryan Boy who experienced going to the Chanel Haute Couture Show in Paris are lucky to really immerse themselves in this fairy tale world. As the blogger from Hapsocal says, Haute couture is, after all, about ten parts fantasy to one part reality.

Click this link for the full article.

Makes Sense

Friday, July 16, 2010

I'm Done

I’m not going to stress over you anymore. It isn’t worth it. I tried to work something out with you, but you just ignored it. I’m not trying to say I don’t love you, because I definitely do. All I’m saying is I’m done chasing after you.

Commander

Kelly Rowland - Commander from Robert on Vimeo.

I'm kinda loving this song. You just wanna get up and dance to the beat.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Vampires Suck



I know I'm a fan of the Twilight Saga, but the upcoming flick Vampires Suck is just hilarious. Haha! Showing on August 18, 2010.

You sorta said this, I think.

Make Mistakes


When we were five, they asked us what we wanted to be when we grew up. Our answers were thing like astronaut, president, or in my case… princess.

When we were ten, they asked again and we answered – rock star, cowboy, or in my case, gold medalist. But now that we’ve grown up, they want a serious answer. Well, how ’bout this: who the hell knows?!

This isn’t the time to make hard and fast decisions, its time to make mistakes. Take the wrong train and get stuck somewhere far. Fall in love – a lot. Major in philosophy ’cause there’s no way to make a career out of that. Change your mind. Then change it again, because nothing is permanent.

So make as many mistakes as you can. That way, someday, when they ask again what we want to be… we won’t have to guess. We’ll know.

— Jessica’s Graduation speech from the movie Eclipse. :)

The Search is ON






I want MAN, not a BOY who thinks he can.





Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Alexander McQueen Through the Years



Alexander McQueen's genius through the years. Amazing shows, gorgeous clothes and interesting concepts. He will be truly missed.

Raise the Bar







If you're dating a cheerleader, raise your hand. If you're not, raise your standards.






Tuesday, July 6, 2010



Model Shalom Harlow in Alexander McQueen's Spring/Summer 1999 finale. She stood on a rotating platform wearing a white dress and robotic arms from a car factory spray painted her garment. AMAZING. More on Alexander McQueen from Hapsical.

Monday, July 5, 2010

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse


Obviously, I am one of those people who eagerly anticipated the release of the third installment of the Twilight Saga. I wanted to watch it on its first day of showing but the lines were so long that I decided otherwise. Without any hassle, I got my tickets online and watched the flick last Saturday.

For a fan of the series, one would always go back to comparing the book with the movie. I watched the movie as it was, no thoughts of comparison of the book. Surprisingly, I found it good. Many would agree with me that the books were not that exciting as compared to what other authors would have written. David Slade and his team sure did a great job in translating the book into the big screen. It was how I pictured in the book, a mix of heart-warming scenes with action-packed sequences. The fight scene on the last part was good. Though, I never expected the Volturi twist wherein Jane waited for the vampires to attack the Cullens before doing any action. Interesting and really evil.

As for the new Victoria, hmmm. Rachel LeFevre was more menacing that Bryce Dallas Howard, but the latter lived up to the role. Riley was also good. I loved the way the story showed the building of Victoria's vampire army. It made everything more cohesive and clear. As usual, the wolf pack with all their six-pack glory maintained their shirtless scenes. Alex Meraz aka Paul was the best in the bunch, next to Taylor Lautner aka Jacob Black of course. Taylor Lautner, whew. That guy takes my breath away every time I see him shirtless in every scene, which is like most of the time. Haha! Edward was still the usual. Actually, I was already contemplating if I should jump ship to Team Jacob. Hmmm...

The makeup and the wardrobe was way better this time as compared to the past 2 movies. Everyone looked good and the clothes were just right. Rosalie and Esme looked better. Even Bella Swan looked better.. Hmmm, maybe the eyebrows?

For a vampire movie, it was kinda weird that I was left teary-eyed by three scenes. First was when Edward got down on one knee and proposed to Bella. The scene was perfect, warm lights and a handsome brooding vampire before you pouring his heart out. Well, I would say YES in a heartbeat! The second scene was when Jacob and Edward were talking in the tent. Two guys talking about love, kinda gay but definitely interesting. Haha! The last scene was when Bella visited Jacob after the fight. You could really sense the hurt in Jacob's every word. I liked his parting words that said something like "Maybe even then.". I was kinda disappointed though that they did not include the line that I was waiting for.

"The clouds I can handle, but could not fight with an eclipse."

Those would have nailed it. Oh well, I guess they had a reason of omitting that part. As a whole, I loved the movie. I agree that this was so far, the best among the three films. I can't wait for Breaking Dawn 1 and 2. For now, I'll just enjoy Eclipse. I'm thinking of watching it again.

Now, who's with me?

Friday, July 2, 2010

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin