After the bloody hostage taking which turned into a media circus and made the Philippines infamous to the rest of the world, true beauty shined at the recently concluded Miss Universe 2010 held at the fabulous Las Vegas in the United States. 83 stunningly beautiful ladies represented their countries to the annual pageant.
Seems like God gave the Filipinos a break by making the Philippines bet Maria Venus Raj a runner-up in the competition. From the start to finish, Venus maintained her poise and elegance. She got mixed reviews with regards to her answer, but the good thing is that she brought honor and pride to every Filipino here and around the world.
Major Major = Bonggang bongga! Whatever. For me, she did her best and she made us proud. I'm sure its no easy task to stand up on stage, strut your stuff and compose yourself before millions of people. She may have not done that well in answering Mr. Baldwin's question but I'm pretty sure that her answer came from her heart. Sure she should have used her dethronement, birth certificate and whatever shit she went through just to get there as an answer. But I guess she got too overwhelmed with the moment. She could have done better, YES, yet I'm sure she did her best to land on that spot. That in itself is an achievement not only for her but for us Filipinos as well.
Since it was a 'beki' holiday, I'm pretty sure that a lot of gays and pageant enthusiasts filed their leaves or called in sick just to watch and cheer for Venus. This group, I think, even had a slumber party to watch the show together.
Life is truly fun when you have happy, merry and GAY friends around you.
Venus, congratulations! You made us all proud to be Filipinos despite the negative publicity that we have been getting lately. I admire you not only for your beauty and poise, but also for your strength in getting through all the problems you encountered. You deserve your success.
For us, title or no title, you are our Miss Universe.
No comments:
Post a Comment